Banneux ix a small village south east of Leige in Belgium where in 1933 it is stated that the apparitions took place with an 11 year old girl called Mariette Beco from the Village. The apparitions were investigated between 1933 & 1935 and since this date pilgrims have been making visits to Banneux. After the apparitions, many healing miracles associated with the spring were reported. The site of the apparitions was finally approved by the Catholic Church in 1949.
Shrine of the Virgin of the Poor
The Shrine of the Virgin of the Poor includes the sacred spring, the Chapel of the Apparitions, a large Church, several small chapels throughout the forest and a hospital for the sick. The Shrine of the Virgin of the Poor was visited by Pope John Paul II in the 1980's and again in the 1990's. Indeed the Pope even had a conversation with Mariette Beco.
Maison Halleux Hotel
The family run Maison Halleux hotel is located on the Rue de L'esplanade and is a good clean two star hotel with excellent quality accommodation. It is an ideal base for the pilgrimage to Banneux and the surrounding area. The meal plan for these tours is on a full board basis which includes continental buffet breakfast, lunch and evening meal. The evening meal is of a 3 course dinner. The rooms are of good quality and can accommodate from 2 to 4 people and each room has en suite facilities. Some rooms do have TV but this cannot be guaranteed as it is a predominately a pilgrimage hotel.
Hospitality Notre Dame
On the August tour you have a choice of either staying at the Maison Halleux hotel as above or you can choose the Hospitality Notre Dame which is located in the precincts of the Shrine of Banneux. Hospitality Notre Dame is specially designed for the elderly and infirm and those requiring constant care during their stay in Banneux. It offers a comfortable welcome and has a 360 bed accommodation capacity. The rooms have the usual en suite facilities with 24 hour medical care management.
A half day excursion is included in these tours to Tancremont, which is a small cahpel containing a remarkable cross, known locally as the "Old Cross". The chapel was built in 1895 and was restored in 1932 & 1986.